State Accountability Commission

State Accountability Commission has been constituted under Jammu and Kashmir Accountability Commission Act, 2002 to inquire into grievances and allegations against public functionaries and for matter connected therewith. As per section 4 of the Jammu and Kashmir Accountability Act, the Chairperson and the Members are to be appointed by the Governor after obtaining the recommendations of a Committee consisting of the Chief Minister, the Speaker of Legislative Assembly, the Chief Justice of the State High Court, the Law Minister and the Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly.

Government has decided to implement the recommendations of the Second Administrative Reforms Commission of India given in its Fourth Report on ‘Ethics in Governance’ where under, among other things, the Commission has recommended that the jurisdiction of the Accountability Commission be restricted to investigate the cases of corruption against Ministers and Members of Legislature only so that the attention of the Commission remains focused on checking the menace of corruption in high public offices. For this purpose, the Jammu and Kashmir Accountability Commission Act has been amended to restrict its operation mainly to cases of corruption by political executive like the Chief Minister, the Presiding Officers of the State Legislature, Ministers, Advisors including Advisors to the Chief Minister, the Members of the State Legislature and persons holding the status of a Minister.