

## Government of Jammu and Kashmir Transport Department Civil Secretariat Jammu and Kashmir.

### **Notification**

# Srinagar, 1st October, 2018

SRO446.-In exercise of the power conferred by sub-section (1) of section 18 of the Jammu and Kashmir State Road Safety Council Act, 2018 (Act No. V of 2018), the Government of Jammu and Kashmir hereby constitute "The District Road Safety Committees" comprising the following; namely:-

1.	Deputy Commissioner	Chairman
2.	Senior Superintendent of Police	Member
3.	Superintending Engineer, PW(R&B)	Member
4.	Executive Engineer, PW(R&B)	Member
4.	Executive Engineer, Irrigation & Flood Control.	Member
5.	Chief Medical Officer	Member
6.	Chief Education Officer	Member
7.	Executive Officer of Municipalities/Urban Bodies/Notified Authorities.	Member
8.	Representative of Border Road Organization to be nominated by concerned Chief Engineer of the BRO Project.	Member
9.	Two NGO's/Experts in the field of Road Safety to be nominated by the concerned Deputy Commissioner.	Member
10.	Regional Transport Officer/Assistant Regional Transport Officer concerned	Member Secretary

The terms of reference for the Committee shall be as follows:-

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

- To take effective measures for collection, comparing and analyzing road accident data, provision of trauma and health care facilities to the victims of the road accidents;
- To provide regular inputs to the State Road Safety Council and recommend road safety measures especially with the identification of major accident prone areas/Black spots, etc;

- iii. To coordinate with District Disaster management Committee/Quick Reaction Teams (QRT's), concerned organisation dealing with Road Safety Management, conduct the road safety Audit of the roads within the territorial limits of the District and advise for measures to be taken mitigating the road accidents and for better management of traffic within the District;
- iv. To implement the State Road Safety Policy;
- v. To conduct road safety programmes at regular intervals;
- vi. To implement directions of the Government of India and the State Government as may be issued from time to time on matter of road safety;
- vii. To act as the nodal body for placing requirement and disbursal of road safety funds and interacts with the State Road Safety Council as and when required;
- viii. To formulate District Road Safety Action Plan;
- ix. To take such other steps as may be necessary for ensuring road safety within the jurisdiction of the district;
- x. Meet at least once in quarter of the year; and
- xi. Submit such reports/returns/Information to the Transport Commissioner as may be required from time to time and the Transport Commissioner shall submit a consolidated report to the State Road Safety Council.

The District Road Safety Committee shall exercise such powers and perform such functions, as the State Road Safety Council may specify from time to time.

By order of the Government of Jammu and Kashmir

(Dr. Asgar Hassan Samoon) IAS Principal Secretary to Government Transport Department

No. TR-172/MVD/2015-II

Dated:- 01 -10-2018

### Copy to the :-

- Secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Government of India, Parivahan Bhawan-I, Parliament Street, New Delhi-110001.
- Secretary, Supreme Court Committee on Road Safety, Room No. 249, Vigyan Bhawan Annexe, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi-110001.
- 3. Chief Secretary, J&K,
- 4. Financial Commissioner to Government, Housing & Urban Development Department.
- 5. Transport Commissioner, J&K, Srinagar.
- 6. Director General of Police, J&K, Srinagar.
- 7. Principal Secretary to the Hon'ble Governor.
- 8. Principal Secretary to Government, Home Department.

a to dead Consistent to Consistent to
9. Principal Secretary to Government, Finance Department.
10. Principal Secretary to Government, Health & Medical Education Department.
11. Principal Secretary to Government, Planning & Development Department.
12 Commissioner Secretary to Government, PW(R&B) Department.
13. Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir.
14. Divisional Commissioner, Jammu.
15. Secretary to Government, School Education Department.
16. Secretary to Government, PHE, Irrigation & Flood Control Department.
17. Secretary to Government, Deptt. of Law Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.
18. Chairman Pollution Control Board, J&K, Srinagar.
19 Inspector General of Police (Traffic), J&K, Srinagar.
20. Inspector General of Police, Kashmir.
21. Inspector General of Police, Jammu.
22 Director Health Service, Kashmir.
23 Director Health Service, Jammu.
24 Director information, J&K, Srinagar with the request to give wide publicity to the Notification in
the print and electronic media for information of the general public.
25 Deputy Commissioner (All),
26. Senior Superintendent of Police (All).
27. Officer on Special Duty to Advisor (G) to Hon'ble Governor, J&K for information of Advisor (G).
28. Regional Officer, NHAI, J&K, Jammu.
29. Superintending Engineer, (All).
30, Chief Engineer, BRO, Jammu.
31. Chief Engineer, Public Works (R&B) Department Jammu/Kashmir
32. Chief Engineer, Project Sampark, Pin:931712 C/o 56 APO.
33. Chief Engineer, Project Beacon, Pin:931706 C/o 56 APO.
34. Chief Engineer, Project Vijajak, Pin:931721 C/o 56 APO.
35. Chief Engineer, Project Himank, Pin:931710 C/o 56 APO.
36. Regional Transport Officer, Jammu/Kathua/Kashmir.
37. Chief Medical Officer (All)
38. Chief Education Officer(All)
39. Executive Engineer, PW(R&B)(All)
40. Executive Engineer, Irrigation & Flood Control(All)
41. Assistant Regional Transport Officer (All)
42. Executive Officer of Municipalities/Urban Bodies/Notified Authorities(All)
43. Private Secretary to Commissioner Secretary to Government, Transport Department.
44. Stock File (w.3.s.c).