कानून, न्याय और संसदीय मामलों का विभाग Department of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs محکمہ قانون ، انصاف اور پارلیمانی امور

  • home
  • High Court and Subordinate Courts

High Court and Subordinate Courts

The Sanctioned strength of the High Court Judges is 17 (13 permanent and 4 Additional Judges). At present, 09 Judges are in position. At present there are 174 Subordinate Courts consisting of 45 Courts of District Judges, 50 Sub-Judges’ Courts and 79 Courts of Munsiffs. As against these Courts, there are 59 District Judges, 60 Sub-Judges and 56 Munsiffs. The Government in 2008 created 12 more Courts of District and Sessions Judges along with supporting staff and two Courts of Chief Judicial Magistrates/ Sub-Judges for the Districts of Bandipora and Ganderbal. Out of these 12 Courts, two Courts were designated as additional courts of Anti-corruption at Jammu and Srinagar. 35 Munsiffs have been appointed recently and matter has been taken up with the Hon’ble High Court for making appointments of District Judges and process has been iniated.

Developmental Works

Department has taken in hand the task of infrastructure development of the judiciary and other related works.

Works under execution
1 Construction of District Court Complex at Srinagar 1200.00
2 Construction of Judicial Academy at Srinagar 50.00
3 Construction of Munsiff Court at Sumbal District Bandipora 23.00